Strategic Themes

Grand Challenge Themes and Cross Cutting Platforms

In 2015 the University created and invested in sector-facing, interdisciplinary, “grand challenge-led” themes in Health, Water, Food, Energy, Culture, Cities and High Value Engineering. Addressing grand-challenges explicitly requires trans-disciplinary work to deliver solutions to real world problems that are informed by users and address unmet needs. The Themes capitalise upon our distinctive challenge-led research, drive interdisciplinary research, create new funding opportunities and deliver impact.

Four cross cutting platforms underpin the activities of the themes: the Astbury Centre for Structural Biology, the Priestley International Centre for Climate, the Leeds Institute for Data Analytics and Leeds Social Sciences Institute. These platforms address challenges that intersect the research focus of the themes and ensure that fundamental issues that relate to climate change, social sciences, data analytics and the molecular basis of life are key components of our research and innovation at Leeds.

If you would like to get involved with one of the themes or platforms or find out about the support they can offer, please get in touch with the relevant Research and Innovation Development Manager:

Cities
Theme Leaders: Phil Purnell (P.Purnell@leeds.ac.uk), Gary Dymski (G.Dymski@leeds.ac.uk)
Research and Innovation Development Manager: Faye McAnulla (F.E.McAnulla@leeds.ac.uk)

Culture
Theme Leader: Frank Finlay (F.J.Finlay@leeds.ac.uk)
Research and Innovation Development Manager: Sue Hayton (S.Hayton@leeds.ac.uk)

Energy
Theme Leaders: Peter Taylor (P.G.Taylor@leeds.ac.uk), Tim Cockerill (T.Cockerill@leeds.ac.uk)
Research and Innovation Development Officer: Jeremy Laycock (energy@leeds.ac.uk)

Food
Theme Leader: Helen Miller (H.M.Miller@leeds.ac.uk)
Research and Innovation Development Manager: TBC (E.Liversedge@leeds.ac.uk)

Health
Theme Leader: Pam Jones (P.Jones@leeds.ac.uk)
Research and Innovation Development Manager: Chris Herbert (C.W.Herbert@leeds.ac.uk)

High Value Engineering
Theme Leader: David York (D.W.York@leeds.ac.uk)
Research and Innovation Development Managers: Trevor Lambourne (T.Lambourne@leeds.ac.uk), John Stanford (J.Stanford@leeds.ac.uk), Mohammed Chunggaze (M.Chunggaze@leeds.ac.uk)

Water
Theme Leaders: Joe Holden (J.Holden@leeds.ac.uk), Martin Tillotson (M.R.Tillotson@leeds.ac.uk)
Research and Innovation Development Manager: Kara Hazelgrave (K.Hazelgrave@leeds.ac.uk)

Astbury Centre for Structural Biology
Research and Innovation Development Manager: Kate Langton (K.P.Langton@leeds.ac.uk)

Priestley International Centre for Climate
Research and Innovation Development Manager: Shona Smith (S.C.Smith@leeds.ac.uk)

Leeds Institute for Data Analytics
Research and Innovation Development Manager: Phil Waywell (P.D.Waywell@leeds.ac.uk)

Leeds Social Sciences Institute
Research and Innovation Development Manager: Josine Opmeer (J.A.Opmeer@leeds.ac.uk)